17:24 / 21.03.2022.

Author: Domagoj Ferenčić

EU ministers divided over possible oil embargo against Russia

Josep Borrell

Josep Borrell

Foto: Johanna Geron / REUTERS

The Russian incursion into Ukraine entered its 26th day on Monday, with Russian forces continuing their attack on the city of Mariupol. Following shelling on Sunday night in the capital Kiev, Mayor Vitali Klitschko has once again declared a 40 hour curfew, lasting until Wednesday morning.

In light of calls from Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy for Europe to end all trade with Russia, EU foreign ministers gathered in Brussels today, to discuss further sanctions against Russia. The Baltic States and Poland are calling for an oil embargo against Russia, however Germany, the Czech Republic and others are calling for a more cautious approach. The EU imports 27% of its oil from Russia, and has opted to not join in the US and UK embargo against Russia. On Monday the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell, reiterated that the EU will continue to support Ukraine by sending Kiev weapons. Moscow has responded by saying that any additional sanctions would have dire consequences for European economies as well.

Negotiators from the two sides have still not found any common ground. Kremlin Spokesman Dmitry Peskov has accused Kiev of dragging the negotiations out by putting forth unreasonable proposals. As a result, he said that the time is not yet right for a planned meeting between President Zelenskyy and Russian President Vladimir Putin: “In order to talk about a meeting of the two presidents there has to be some progress achieved by the negotiators. For now we haven't seen any significant progress in that regard, which is why it is too early to talk about a meeting of the two presidents, because they will not have anything concrete to agree upon.”

Source: HRT

Vijesti HRT-a pratite na svojim pametnim telefonima i tabletima putem aplikacija za iOS i Android. Pratite nas i na društvenim mrežama Facebook, Twitter, Instagram i YouTube!