19:37 / 28.04.2022.

Author: Nikola Badovinac

Committees support three new members of government

Prime Minister Andrej Plenković

Prime Minister Andrej Plenković

Foto: Patrik Macek / Pixsell

Three of the latest candidates to join the Andrej Plenković government received support from their relevant parliamentary committees on Thursday after hours of questioning. 

The parliamentary Committee on the Constitution, Standing Orders and Political System supported Anja Šimpraga, an MP from the Independent Democratic Serb Party, as deputy prime minister, despite criticism from the right for her views on the Homeland War.

"I am positive that she will do a very good job. I would like to take this opportunity to once again thank Mr Milošević for what he did in this function over the past two years," Prime Minister Andrej Plenković.

For her part, Šimpraga said she would work in the spirit of her predecessor Boris Milošević, "who brought peace", continuing to build inter-ethnic confidence and inclusion.

Mladen Pavliček of the Homeland Movement said it was unfortunate that the candidate for deputy prime minister could not admit that members of her community in the 1990's sided with the Greater Serbia aggression.

Davor Filipović, the candidate for minister of economy and sustainable development, received support from both the Committee on the Economy and the Environment and Nature Conservation Committee.

"I always give my best in everything I do. I am honest, I am prepared, and I will continue work hard. It is a huge honour for me to find myself in this situation here today, but it is also comes with a lot responsibility," said Filipović.

Meanwhile, a trio of parliamentary committees supported Marin Piletić, the mayor of Novska, as the new minister of labour, pension system, family and social policy. Piletić has vowed to create new jobs, increase the average salary, and boost pensions by 10 per cent.

Piletić said it was his "goal to work within the ministry of labor, pension system, family and social policy to improve the lives of our fellow citizens.

Parliament is scheduled to vote on the new members of government on Friday.

Vijesti HRT-a pratite na svojim pametnim telefonima i tabletima putem aplikacija za iOS i Android. Pratite nas i na društvenim mrežama Facebook, Twitter, Instagram i YouTube!