(Photo: Robert Anic/PIXSELL) (Photo: Robert Anic/PIXSELL)

The government's latest move to salvage the summer tourism season will include Slovenia, Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Germany and Poland.

"According to our comparative analysis of the epidemiological situation, these countries have made similar progress like we have in Croatia, or who are trending in that direction. This has allowed us to make this decision to allow the arrival of citizens from these aforementioned countries during the upcoming tourism season," said the prime minister.

The easing of restrictions is hoped to bring in visitors to Croatia's Adriatic coastline, ahead of the summer tourism season which usually peaks from June to August. In 2019, more than eighteen million tourists visited the country, with largest numbers coming from Germany, Slovenia, Austria, Poland, and Italy.

He added that the list of countries permitted to freely enter Croatia would be expanded if the situation continued to improve.

Source: HRT