(Photo: Borna Filic/PIXSELL) (Photo: Borna Filic/PIXSELL)

Last month US President Donald Trump announced that the visa requirement for Poland would be scrapped within the coming weeks. This means that Polish citizens travelling on business or for pleasure can stay in the US for up to 90 days without a visa. Croatia has been hoping since it joined the EU that the US would do the same for its citizens, but that has not happened yet. It remains one of four EU countries, along with Bulgaria, Romania, and Cyprus that do not have reciprocity with the US when it comes to entry.

Brussels has tried to broker a faster entry for these member states into the Visa Waiver Program. However, the countries must reduce the number of declined visa applications to under three percent. The rejection rate for Croatian applicants has been falling, but it was still at 5% in 2017. Croatia and Cyprus have been cited by US officials as positive examples, countries that are close to meeting the formal criteria for the program. However, only Poland has been granted entry at this time.

The European Commission was supposed to introduce a visa requirement for US and Canadian citizens by April of 2016 on the grounds that these countries did not reciprocate for citizens of all EU member states, but the Commission never implemented the decision.